Where can you study at the doctoral level?

In Sweden there are 44 higher education institutions that are entitled to award Swedish qualifications. Of these, 31 are public sector institutions.
26 higher education institutions are entitled to award first, second and third-cycle qualifications, while the remainder are only entitled to award first and second-cycle qualifications.

There are four independent institutions that are entitled to award qualifications in psychotherapy (not shown on the map). An independent institution does not have the state as its accountable authority.

Lund has most doctoral students

Lund University had the largest number of doctoral students in 2013, and has had the largest number for the last 20 years.

In 2013, two-thirds of all third-cycle students were studying at one of these six universities:

  • Lunds University
  • Karolinska Institutet
  • KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Uppsala University
  • University of Gothenburg
  • Stockholm University

Since January 2010, all HEIs can apply for degree-awarding powers in general third-cycle degrees. The application is assessed by the Swedish Higher Education Authority and degree-awarding powers are applied for in a particular field.

Higher education institutions

The following higher education institutions are entitled to award PhDs, either generally or in certain disciplinary fields (which are listed if such is the case).

Blekinge Institute of Technology (new window) »
IT and its applications, as well as in planning and management.

University of Borås (new window) »
Library and information science, as well as resource recycling and textiles and fashion.

Chalmers University of Technology (new window) »

University of Gävle (new window) »
Built environments, health-inducive work environment

University of Gothenburg (new window) »
Fine, applied and performing arts

Halmstad University (new window) »
Information technology and innovation science, health and lifestyle

Jönköping University (new window) »
Humanistic/social-science areas (not including political science), industrial product development

Karlstad University (new window) »

Karolinska Institutet (new window) »

KTH Royal Institute of Technology (new window) »

Linköping University (new window) »

Linnaeus University (new window) »

Luleå University of Technology (new window) »

Lund University (new window) »
Fine, applied and performing arts

Malmö University (new window) »
Odontology, biomedical science, health, care and welfare, new media, public lives and forms of representation, sports science, migration, urbanisation and societal change, and educational science

Mid Sweden University (new window) »

Mälardalen University (new window) »
Integrated systems, innovation and product realisation, environment, energy and resource optimisation, industrial economics, working life and control, health and welfare, and didactics

University of Skövde (new window) »
Information technology

Stockholm School of Economics (new window) »

Stockholm University (new window) »

The Swedish School of Sports and Health Sciences (new window) »
Sports, physical activity and health

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (new window) »

Södertörn University (new window) »
Historical studies, critical cultural theory, environmental science and politics, economics and societal organisation

Umeå University (new window) »

University West (new window) »
Production technology, informatics with specialisation work integrated learning and education with specialisation work integrated learning.

Uppsala University (new window) »

Örebro University (new window) »

Last updated: 2014-07-30
UHR logo
Swedish Council for Higher Education www.uhr.se, Box 45093, SE-104 30 Stockholm
Phone: +46 10 470 03 00, Email: To the contact form